

December 2021

Dear High School Counselor(s):

The Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians Foundation Board of Trustees established the *David G. Hall, M. D. Memorial Scholarship* to award scholarships to seniors in schools across Mississippi who are interested in pursuing a career in the field of medicine. Our foundation will donate up to \$1,000 for scholarships to Mississippi seniors during the 2021-22 school year.

For Contest Rules, Judging Criteria and Application, go to www.msafp.org/scholarship. After reviewing this information, please follow the steps below:

- Each student that meets the criteria should submit an application, along with his/her 500-word essay titled, "The Family Physician: Providing Your Medical Home". The essay should "Describe the impact of a Family Physician in your life or the life of your family and/or the role of the Family Physician in your community. In what ways do Family Physicians strengthen the various aspects of the community?"
- The essay should be grammatically correct and accurate in terms of spelling and word usage.
- If a specific physician is mentioned in the essay, the physician <u>MUST</u> be a Family Medicine physician. Please encourage your students to research the physician to determine if he/she is indeed a Family Physician. Essays written about any other medical specialty will be **disqualified.**
- All applications must include a list of accomplishments, application, essay **AND** <u>a high</u> school transcript.
- Applications must be postmarked on or before **Friday**, **February 25**, **2022** to be considered for the scholarship.

Scholarship winners will be announced by May 1, 2022. Thank you for your assistance as we continue to promote family medicine among Mississippi's high school seniors.

Sincerely,

Beth Embry

Foundation Director

President MAFP Ex-Officio Board of Trustees

Melissa Stephens, MD James W. Griffin, MD Sarah Barowka, MD Rickey L. Chance, DO

Barbara Goodman, MD Cierra Green, MD
Vice-President Treasurer Claire Harper, MD Kelly S. Tullos, MD

Patrick Whipple, MD Jonathan Buchanan, MD